Valentine’s Day-breakfast ♥

So today is Valentine’s Day, and I decided to go all-out and spoil my boyfriend with a huge themed breakfast (aside from the 3-course-dinner we will have later – post will follow). A lot of the ideas for the breakfast came from various blogs I found via Pinterest, but I also added a few touches of my own. Also, although Valentine’s Day is only once a year, I think these breakfast ideas will work for any romantic occassion. Enjoy. ♥

Valentine’s Day-breakfast:

image
Valentine's Day-breakfast

Toast with heart-shaped core of scrambled eggs, the heart-shaped toast pieces and bacon shaped like a heart

image
Toast with heart-shaped core of scrambled eggs, the heart-shaped toast pieces and bacon shaped like a heart

If you have a heart-shaped cookie-cutter, then this is an easy recipe. Just cut out the core of the toast, then put the bread slices on a pan with melted butter, and finally pour a bit of scrambled egg-mixture into the heart-shaped hole and fry. It can be a bit tricky to get the egg cooked through without burning one side, so I put a lid on my pan to help it along. I also put the heart-shaped toast pieces on the pan to not waste food, and then I fried some bacon and shaped it like a heart.

Pink and brown heart-pan cakes

image
Pink and brown heart-pan cakes

This one is also quite simple. When you’ve made half of your pan cakes, add some red food colour to the batter and stir to get pink batter. Then make the rest of the pan cakes. Use a cookie-cutter to cut out hearts in both brown and pink pan cakes and swap them. And there you go. :3

Raspberry-strawberry-smoothie

image
Raspberry-strawberry-smoothie

This smoothie is very easy to make. Just put 1 dl floden raspberries, a few strawberries (frozen or fresh), 1 – 1 1/2 dl milk and 1-2 tsps of sugar in a blender and mix. I added pink straws to keep in line with my theme.

Chocolate croissants

image

I’ll admit right away that I have yet to learn how to make a successful croissant-dough, so I used store-bought dough for these. But to add a twist, I put two squares of good quality-chocolate into the croissants before rolling them and then made sure to squeeze the end together tight. They came out great, and the chocolate stayed inside the croissants.

Heart-shaped fruit

image
Heart-shaped fruit

A healthy and delicious treat for Valentine’s Day. Just use a very small cookie-cutter. I used the left-overs for my own fruit-bowl, but you could also blend them into another smoothie.

That’s all for now. I hope you’ll find these ideas inspiring. Happy Valentine’s Day! ♥

Leave a Reply

